A Tragedy

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Three Letter Words.”

the challenge was to write a post excluding Three Letter Words! This is harder than I thought it would be.


On a Sunday morning in July, my birthday, actually, we were looking forward to some swimming in a neighborhood pool. At about 10:03 AM when I heard my phone ring, I thought, “Ah..someone calling to wish me a Happy Birthday?”

Casually, I answered my phone. Instead of hearing a cheery Birthday Greeting. I heard screaming. I recognized my sister, Kate’s, grief-stricken voice. Something terribly must have happened. After several minutes of screaming. I heard something that I never wanted to hear. Kate told me that Jenny, my niece, finally committed suicide.

Jenny talked about doing this quite often. We never took it serious.

Every event that unfolded from that morning, sounded strange. Nothing matched up to what we were being told.

There seemed to be many versions of what actually happened..

Some shoddy investigation by a local sheriff’s office along with Jenny’s questionable past, made a quick conclusion easier to believe.

Many false truths were accepted as facts.

Kate, Jenny’s mother, accepts what I know is wrong information.

I have dedicated three years of my life, trying to prove a more truthful version.

I almost gave up, because nobody cared, nobody wanted to hear what I knew.

I know some details of what happened. I know that some people have many secrets.

I know some people should be very afraid when Karma comes knocking.

I know that a mother should never have to bury a child.

I know that a mother should never keep secrets about a person’s death.

I know an aunt that isn’t going to give up.

Leave a Reply

